Translate Toolkit & Pootle

Tools to help you make your software local

User Tools


Pootle permissions

This page explains how to administrate permissions on your Pootle server. There are several rights which can be assigned to users or to a group of users (like all logged in users). The default site wide permissions are configured by the server administrator. These are the permissions that will be used in each project unless other permissions are configured.

Permissions precedence

Permissions can be customised server wide, per language, project or language/project combination (translation project).

Permissions apply recursively, so server wide permissions will apply to all languages and projects unless there is a more specific permission. Language permission applies to all translation projects under that language, etc.

Special users

Pootle has two special users “nobody” and “default” used to assign permissions to more than one user at once. The user “nobody” represents any non logged in user, and “default” represents any logged in user.

If a user has permissions assigned to her user account they override any default permissions even those applied to more specific objects (i.e. a user who has specific rights on a language will override default rights on translation projects).

Server administrators can be specified in the users page of the admin section. Server administrators have full rights on all languages and projects and override all permissions.

Available permissions

The following permissions may be set for the server or per language, or language-project combination:

  • view - limits access to project of language but does not limit it's visibility.
  • suggest - the right to suggest a translation for a specific unit, also implies the right to upload file using suggest only method.
  • review - the right to review the suggested translations and accept or reject them, as well as the right to reject false positive quality checks
  • translate - the right to supply a translation for a specific unit or to replace the existing one. This implies the right to upload files using the merge method.
  • archive - the right to download archives (ZIP files) of a project or directory.
  • overwrite - the right to entirely overwrite a file at the time of upload (instead of the default behaviour of merging translations)
  • administrate - the right to administrate the project or language including administer permissions and delegating rights to users (this is not the same as the site administrator)
  • commit - the right to update or commit a file to the version control system (if the files are configured for version control integration)
  • assign - the right to assign work in goals to translators (not available in Pootle 2.0)

Permissions interface

Users with administrative rights for languages or translation projects can access the permissions interface by clicking on the “Permissions” tab on the language or translation project index pages.

Pootle administrators will find the default permissions interface on the administration page, at the “Permissions” tab.

The current rights are listed as they are assigned. The user “nobody” refers to any user that is not logged in (an anonymous, unidentified user). The user “default” refers to the rights that all logged in users will have by default, unless other specific rights were assigned to them. The rest of the users are users of the Pootle server for which non-default rights were assigned.

Changing permissions

In the list of permissions, you can simply select which rights must be assigned to that user or class of users. You might need to hold down the Ctrl key of you keyboard to select multiple rights. Changes will be updated when you submit the form.

Adding a user

To set permissions for a specific user, select the user in the dropdown list and set the specific rights for that user. This is only necessary if the user does not yet have their own set of rights defined.

Users who selected the language or project in their profile settings will be listed as the project or language team. After that follows a list of all registered users.

Removing a user

To reset a user's rights to the default rights, select the tick box next to their name and permissions list. When you submit, their rights will be reset to the default rights.

A user with administrative rights can remove his own administrative rights.